GotHostels
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.6
 Rooms  4.3
 Cleanliness  4.5
 Location  4.7
 Security & Safety  4.6
 Service & Staff  4.8
 Food / Dining  4.7
 Total  4.5

"Great Hostel"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Rodrigo M. of Fortaleza, CE, Brazil
Reviewed:   August 4, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   March 2010     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The Republica de Artistas was one of the best hostels I´ve stayed when traveling for 5 months in South America and no doubt it has the best breakfast ever. Nice and helpfull staff, clean, well decorated and with a great atmosphere. Salento and the Republika are places that I always reccomend to travelers who mention the intention to visit Colombia.

"GOURMET HOUSE"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   URSULA T. of BARCELONA, Spain
Reviewed:   May 26, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   May 2010     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Republika d'Artistas is a cosy house perfectlly located in Salento. The have paintings expositions and also are selling hand made leather bags. The owners are incredible. The food is excelent. For breakfast you will enjoy 9 tipicall colombian plates of gourmet food. They also recomend you to visit a ekological cofee plantation wich you will never forget.

"Heart & Home"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Kevin M. of Chicago, United States
Reviewed:   May 24, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   May 2010     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
As i was traveling through the beautiful country of columbia i was lucky enough to stop in the little town of salinto...Original plans were to lodge at the plantation house but when my companion and i were walking through town we saw a beautiful place with art flowing out of it...Jozef and Mihail are two of the most amazing and loving people i had ever met they touched me with their hearts, laughter and delicious oraganic food...i found peace when i stayed there and plan to return as often as life will allow me to do so

"Friendly place"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Sebastien R. of Auray, France
Reviewed:   May 20, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   February 2010     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I had a nice time there. Friendly and very helpfull people. Great breakfast.
The place is basic but safe. Right in the center.

"How can you not love this place?"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Bjørn S. of Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed:   May 20, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   March 2010     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I have never written a review of a hostel before, but given the information that a bad review of Mikhail and Josephs place had been submitted I hereby do an exception. That review is really a disgrace.

The place is the best! I have never been in a more warm and welcoming hostel, with such amazing breakfasts. The thing is, that the guys here really wants this hostel to be a shared home for travellers like themselves. They are not in it for the money as so many other hostel-owners but are actually trying everyday to innovate and improve the way hostels works and treat their guests. It's all "Mi Casa est tu Casa". And the breakfast is unforgetable.

So, allow yourself an experience that match the surroundings of Salento and stay at Republika de Artistas.

- Bjørn

P.S. the 4 in the rooms is due to the fact that the beds in my dorm at first glance seemed a little hard, but when you first laid down they were really great. So to me it is really a 5. If you are a very thinskinned little princess though, I would go for a room.

"Amazing place, GO THERE and NOWHERE ELSE!!!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Francois B. of Nancy, France
Reviewed:   May 18, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   February 2010     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Hi,

I went there in february. Somebody, a lady from the village advise me to go there.
I meet the spanish family that is amazing. A father and his son, truely creatives. The food is absolutely amazing and different every day! You will also find some nice home made artisana!

It is safe, quiet, veeeery cosy and with a family atmosphere...close to the central place!

I totally recomment this place!

The host is wonderful.

Francois

"Muy recomendale!!!!!!!"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Veronica B. of buenos aires, Argentina
Reviewed:   May 17, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   April 2010     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
En mi viaje por latinoamerica, conoci a una pareja de argentinos que me recomendaron Salento como un lugar interesante y magico para conocer. Asi tambien me dijeron que me hospede en republika de artistas. Un hostel increible con el " mejor desayuno de todos" preparado con mucho amor por joseph y mihail sus dueños. Dos personas maravillosas que hacen lo imposible por que tu estadia sea placentera. Se los recomiendo de corazon!!!!

"salento"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Kim S. of sydney, Australia
Reviewed:   May 16, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   March 2010     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
i stayed at this hostel in march. Initially i was going to stay for a couple of days, 5 nights later. It was home away from home. YOU HAVE TO TRY THE AWESOME GOURMET 3 COURSE BREAKFAST, ITS MOUTH WATERING its the kind of food you get in a restaurant... its very clean and the owner is very hospitable. we had one night all the people from the hostel and the owner all went out for dinner, so his very easy going....

enjoy- disfruteeeeeeeeeeeeee.....

"Perfect place!"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Amarens V. of Groningen, Netherlands
Reviewed:   May 16, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   March 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We were planning to stay in Salento for 1 or2 days, but by chance we came up in Republika de Artistas and finally left one week later.
The relaxed atmosphere, the delicious four (or more) -course breakfast according to the slow food concept and the friendliness and hospitality of the owners, Joseph and Mihail, have made it difficult for us to leave. Mihail and Joseph are very enthusiastic people who have just started this hostel and you can feel and see that they want to make something special of it...Besides a place to stay they have created a gallery of the hostel where they show and sell work of- and for local artists (without making any profit)....We hope to come back some day to see how they have developed!!

"Best Hostel EVER"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Sam C. of Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed:   May 16, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   March 2010     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Republika de Artistas is the best hostel I've ever stayed at. I will never forget Josephs hospitality. He comes from a family of Michelin chefs and his 6-7 course breakfast is the perfect start to a day of exploring Salentos beautiful scenery.


1 - 10 of 18 reviews  Next 8 results




GotHostels Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us